See Who’s Going, Now Available Globally

Last year, we took a close look at the factors that influence a person’s decision about whether or not to buy a ticket to attend an event. One of the most critical factors is actually knowing who is attending the event, which is exactly why we introduced “See Who’s Going” in the US. This feature unleashed the power of social media to answer the age-old question of “who’s going to the event?” and drives even more sharing and event registrations.

The huge success of this feature paired with the recent growth of Facebook outside of the US (an additional 870,000 users in France in the past six months), and now with the help of our CTO, Renaud Visage, we’re excited to launch this feature globally. In addition to focusing on our technology, Renaud has also been a key player in our internationalization.

The “Who’s Going” feature allows people to see which of their friends (connected via Facebook) have already registered for an event that they may be interested in attending. The “Who’s Going” module will appear on event registration pages, just below event ticketing and registration information.

Among people who share events on Facebook, 40% of people share events before they commit to going, in order to gauge their friends’ interest in attending, or to encourage them to attend. So imagine how powerful this information can be in influencing their decision. If they see that 5 of their friends have already registered for an event, they’ll be more likely to register on the spot.

WhosGoing-1024x412

The people you see in “Who’s Going” are unique to you, based on your social graph. Only friends you are connected to on Facebook who have already registered for the event will show up. And if you don’t see any friends listed, hit that “share” button so that you can rally the troops!

You can easily manage your share settings in the module itself (and order confirmation page). If you want your Facebook friends to see the events you’re attending and want to encourage them to join you, set it to “Social”. Otherwise, simply select the “Private” setting and no one will be able see the events you’ve registered for.

All events will display the “Who’s Going” module on their event registration page. If you have an existing event and would like to add this module, or you want to remove it from new events you create, just head over to the “Preview & Customize” tab in the Edit/Create Event page, and check or uncheck the “Allow visitors to see which of their Facebook friends are going” box.

Head over to the Help Center for more detailed steps.

What do you think? Would you be more interested in attending an event if you knew your friends were going? Tell us in the comments section below.